My Nails My Therapy…

Ever since I can remember I love having long nails, when I was little I would cry every time I had to cut them. I have never been a girly girl, but I love having long nails.

Through the cold winter in Chicago and the comfort food. Feeling bored, tired, cold, and a little depressed I started doing my nails weekly. I am always so busy with work, volunteer stuff, school and being a wife that I stopped focusing on me. I decided that I needed some time for myself, time to use all the creativity that dances in my head. I can say that I am an artist without talent. I love painting, but can’t paint, love sing but can’t sing. So doing my nails has helped me use some of my artistic side without being disappointed in my skills.

Every Sunday, after doing everything that I have to do, I try to be home by 7:00 pm to relax, put T.V. or music on depending on the mood, I sit in my couch, take out all my nail polish and choose the colors of the week. I love color, I usually use two or more colors. Working on my nails, helps me concentrate and remove the stress from everything that is around me. It brings positive energy for me to prepare to endure the upcoming week. I never thought I will need anything to remove the stress from my busy routine.

For a few years I started focusing on everything else that I forgot to focus a little about myself. I stopped doing things that made me connect with my inner self, little by little I started feeling a little empty, like something was missing. I wasn’t sure what, but I kept analyzing what was making feel in that unsatisfactory way, until I felt that I wasn’t me anymore. So I started doing things that made me ME.

I made a list of all the things that I love and that I used to do and stopped doing for one reason or another. My list began with sports, dancing, running, painting, doing my nails, writing, etc… I decided that little by little I was going to get back to doing things that I love and make me connect with my inner self.

For a few months now I have been doing my nails weekly, I enjoy the time that I spend decorating them. Is like if everything was far away and for that specific moment everything around would stop. During that moment is just about me, me and no one else and nothing else. I love this feeling, I love being who I am. I love finding out a little more of who I am and who I am becoming every day.

I would recommend for you to stop doing everything you do, just for a few minutes and do something special that will help you reconnect with your inner self. Something that will remind you how great you are. It is okay for you to stop for a second and be a little selfish, it is okay to make yourself a priority. It has taken me long time to realize this. But now that I am doing it, it feels great!

Look under the Nails Design in My Site to see some more pictures of my nails! =)

What is your favorite thing to do, to connect with your inner self?

Pink, Blue and White

About Idalia Medina-Flores

Hello, welcome to my random world!... here you will find crafts, short stories, inspirational quotes and a lot of random stuff.
This entry was posted in Short stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Nails My Therapy…

  1. laflor5233 says:

    Great idea. I like to go someplace for coffee and some pastry all by my self and enjoy my quiet space and peace.

Leave a comment